FAQ2020-07-16T11:18:26+01:00

FAQ’S

Accommodation catering2020-07-09T14:25:11+01:00

Our chefs would be pleased to prepare home cooked meals for you and your guests, please ask for further details.  Alternatively, Cartshed Lodge and Southwood House have fully fitted kitchens and gas barbecues outside so you are welcome to self-cater.

Special dietary requirements2020-07-09T14:26:07+01:00

We pride ourselves on accommodating guests with special dietary requirements and have received acclaim for the standards achieved.  Please make the needs of your guests known to us when setting your menu and we will suggest the most seamless way to incorporate their requirements.  If any guest has a serious medical allergy, we do ask that the whole menu is allergen free.

Alternative caterers2020-07-16T22:18:24+01:00

We do not allow self-catering or catering from alternative suppliers at events (with the exception of a traditional wedding cake that does not require specialist storage) as the quality of the food offered reflects directly on Southwood Hall and our reputation.

Likewise all guests attending an event must be catered for as otherwise it appears to unwitting guests that our portions are small or that insufficient catering was provided through no fault of our own which again damages our reputation.

If your cake is homemade, we do require a declaration for food safety to be completed in advance with full allergen disclosure.

Complimentary items2020-07-09T14:27:06+01:00

Everything we believe you will need to host your wedding is included in the hire fee including a choice of white or ivory linens and two alternative crockery options.

We have an extensive list of items that can be made available for you on a complimentary basis such as a cake stand, cake knife, gift and card box, table numbers and glass tea light holders as well as tall oak easels and an oak backboard.

Guest numbers2020-07-09T14:51:23+01:00

We can seat up to 165 guests for a wedding ceremony and formal dining.  We can accommodate up to 300 guests to a reception or party where seating for 80 guests is retained in the barn with an additional 100 seats on the terrace and lawns.

Most typically we host 80-120 guests by day and 120 – 250 guests by night however there are no minimum guest restrictions.

Directions to Southwood Hall2020-07-09T14:33:02+01:00

Our full address is Coronation Barn, Southwood Hall, Southwood, Norwich, NR13 3LR.

From the West

Follow the A47 from Norwich towards Great Yarmouth.

The dual carriageway will briefly reduce to single carriageway and then re-open to dual. As it widens keep in the right-hand lane and prepare to turn right across the oncoming dual carriageway, sign-posted B1140 Beighton, Cantley.

Take the first left turn onto Cox Hill Road and follow the road through the village of Beighton. As the houses cease take the left-hand turn onto Southwood Road, there is a sign saying ‘Southwood Hall’ pointing towards the correct direction.

Continue along Southwood Road until you reach a set of crossroads where you must give way.

Proceed straight over the junction. The car park at Coronation Barn will be on your right-hand side after the farm and private house entrance.

From the East

Follow the A47 from Great Yarmouth towards Norwich.

After 5 miles, just after you enter a 50mph area, turn left (opposite the Restaurant) towards Halvergate.

Follow this very bumpy road as it winds its way through the village of Halvergate. As you leave the village, be sure to keep on the road which bears right at a sharp bend onto Freethorpe Road.

At the T junction as you reach Freethorpe turn right onto Reedham Road before taking the first left onto Porters Road.

At the crossroads turn left. Pass the family farm and the private residence at Southwood Hall before turning right into the car park at Coronation Barn.

From the South

You can use either of the above routes via Norwich or Great Yarmouth but there is a third crossing of the River Yare at Reedham via a pull ferry.

Whilst this is lovely for the wedding couple the ferry can only accommodate two vehicles per crossing and a round-trip takes 10 minutes so please ask your guests to avoid forming a long queue as their arrival to us will be significantly delayed.

Sound limiter2020-07-09T14:51:48+01:00

The barn has a sound limiter installed, as do most modern venues, which is a pre-requisite of our Entertainment License.  It is set to 110 decibels (most venues in built up areas are set to 90dB) and operates a traffic light system with a light on one of the main beams indicating to performers their sound level. Green means they are performing safely within their limit. Amber warns them that they are very close to the limit. Red indicates that they have three seconds to reduce their sound level before it will cut their power supply.

When choosing your suppliers please bear in mind that performing at a wedding or private event is unlike a gig as many guests like to mingle and catch up with one another. If sound limits are too high it presents a dangerous environment for our staff and actually deters guests from joining in the atmosphere inside the barn preferring to remain on the terrace or to leave earlier than they may have planned.

We advise all performers to get in touch with us prior the date of the event and welcome them for a sound-check to ensure they can manage their levels accordingly.

Bar prices2020-07-20T10:19:21+01:00

Our bar prices are similar to those charged at our local gastro-pubs and although more than at Wetherspoons are far more reasonable than you would expect at an upmarket restaurant, hotel or similar venue.  Current charges include a pint of beer £4.50, bottled lagers from £3.00, a large glass of wine £5.00, standard spirit and mixer £4.50 and carbonated soft drink £2.50.

Taxi services2020-07-09T14:56:39+01:00

Our Hire (best for local & pre-booked services)

If you are staying locally, we can highly recommend Our Hire as a reliable, friendly, efficient and reasonably priced taxi service. They are located just 2 miles from Southwood Hall and have a large fleet including cars, mini buses, small coaches and full 55 seat coaches. Please mention Southwood Hall if you make an enquiry to ensure you receive their most competitive quote.

We would recommend that you book with them in advance as they do not always respond to late calls. Please call Our Hire on 01493 752 223.

24-hour services

Albies Taxis (best for east Norfolk service) Tel: 01493 331111

Goldstar (best for Norwich and west Norfolk service) Tel: 01603 700700

Beeline Tel: 01603 789330

Courtesy taxis Tel: 01603 446644

House DJ2020-07-20T10:19:51+01:00

We regularly work alongside several high-class DJs that are well versed at operating in the barn and cover our licensed hours for a fixed £350 fee without additional post-midnight charges.  They are happy to set up in the morning if need-be, also without additional charge. If you would like us to book a DJ on your behalf please email events@southwoodhall.com

Recommended wedding professionals2020-07-16T22:09:02+01:00

Please don’t be shy about asking for contacts, recommendations or honest advice.  We are surrounded by wedding professionals almost daily!  We constantly gather feedback from our customers and take note of people offering exceptional service to ensure that we can help you to achieve the best day possible.

Many of our recommended suppliers will not be seen advertising or at local wedding shows as they are simply so good at what they do that their services are very quickly snapped up by word of mouth.  The list here is not exhaustive and if you are looking for a specific service or for more recommendations then please just ask.

Sadly, some other providers do not live up to expectations.  We are happy to give an independent review of any local suppliers to give you peace of mind before you book.

 

Photographers

Ross Harvey www.rossharvey.com
James Rouse www.jamesrouse.com
JMA Photography www.jmaphotography.co.uk
Lightening Photography www.lighteningphotography.co.uk
Gina Manning Photography www.ginamanning.co.uk
Tim Stephenson Photography www.timstephensonphotography.co.uk
RT Photography rtphotography2009@googlemail.com
Sam Gee Photography www.samgeephotography.co.uk

 

Film makers

Thompson Granger Films www.thompsongranger.com
Kelly Southby www.kellysouthby.co.uk
Mike Savory Wedding Films www.mikesavory.co.uk
Browns Films www.brownsfilms.com

 

Florists

KWF www.kwfwedding.co.uk
Floral Sistas www.floralsistas.co.uk

 

Styling & finishing touches

KWF (stylists & DIY hire) www.kwfwedding.co.uk
Holly Honeywell (finishing touches) www.hollyhoneywell.com
Grice and Foster (chair covers) www.gricefostereventhire.co.uk
I do Wedding Designs (stationery) www.i-do-weddingdesigns.co.uk

 

Bands, musicians, singers and discos

Southwood Hall House Disco & DJ dj@southwoodhall.com
The Bears www.thebears.uk.com
The Joe Ringer Band www.thejrb.co.uk
Ignite www.igniteband.co.uk
TestostaTones www.testostatones.co.uk
The Rovers – Wandering Trio www.facebook.com/theroverstrio
The Phonix www.facebook.com/phonixduo/
The Swanlock Duo www.theswanlockduo.com
Joe Ringer Jazz www.thejrb.co.uk
Bill Downs www.billdownsmusic.com
Lee Vann www.leevann.com
Charlie Sadd www.facebook.com/Charliesaddsingerdj/
Laurence Brooks www.laurencelive.co.uk
Beat Banditos Mariachi Band www.beatbanditos.co.uk
Caribbean Steel Drum Band www.caribbeansteeldrumbandsforparties.com
Kavolini String Quartet www.kavolinistringquartet.co.uk
Lucinder – Harpist For All Occasions www.harpistforalloccasions.com

 

 Entertainment

Southwood Hall (Bouncy castle & obstacle course)
KWF (Arcade style dance machine) www.kwfwedding.co.uk
Simply Magic www.simplymagic.co.uk
Boothography www.boothography.co.uk
4 Aces Fun Casino www.4acesfuncasino.co.uk

 

Pet sitters

Pet Pixie (Olwen) petpixiebookings@gmail.com

 

Transport

Saxonair Charter www.saxonair.com
Pegasus Carriage Masters www.pegasuscarriagemasters.com
Silverline Limousine & Executive Car Hire www.silverlinelimousines.co.uk

 

 Cake makers

Celebration Cakes by Maria www.celebrationcakesbymaria.com
Love Wedding Cakes www.loveweddingcakes.co.uk
Sassas Cakes www.sassascakes.co.uk

 

Hair & Beauty

Laura Howard Hair & Beauty www.laura-howard.co.uk
Amanda Steed Hair & Makeup www.amandasteedmakeup.co.uk
Amber Johnson www.instagram.com/amber.l.beauty/
Rosie Kefford www.rosiekeffordmua.com

 

Make Up Artists

Love Moi Makeup www.lovemoimakeup.com
Melissa Abel www.melissaabel.co.uk
Danielle Auker www.norwichmakeup.co.uk
Hayley Clarke www.hayleyclarkemakeupartist.com
Leanna Stibbon www.leannastibbonmakeup.co.uk
GlamR Beauty (Maria Giles) www.glamrbeauty.co.uk

 

Hair stylists

Gemma Holiday www.gemmaholiday.com
Hair by Laura Hughes www.facebook.com/laurahugheshair/
Carrie Parker www.facebook.com/carrieparkerhair/

 

 Wedding outfitters

Dreams Bridal www.dreamsbridal.co.uk
Slaters Menswear and Formal Hire www.slaters.co.uk